Dr. Dre is one of the kings of old-school hip-hop, and I would even argue he’s one of the pioneers of modern day hip-hop production. The most quickly escalating name in hip-hop in 2012 is Kendrick Lamar, so it is only natural that Dr. Dre shows his magical touch on the latest Kendrick Lamar single ‘Compton.’

Lamar’s debut major label album “good kid, m.A.A.d. city” is set for release October 22nd on Interscope/Aftermath. With his latest track record of features across almost all great hip-hop names, and the buzz around the debut, and finally, his inclusion on Aftermath is shaping Kendrick Lamar to be the next big hip-hop star to blaze the trail of mainstream music for the future.

‘Compton’ is bass-heavy and melodic, infusing Dr. Dre and Lamar’s deep-throated style to a instrumental beat that plays both sides with high tension. Lamar really erupts the song. If the rest of his debut album holds up to this level of mastery over the sound, it may be a legendary release. ‘Compton’ was produced by upcoming producer ‘Just Blaze.’

Below is the track list for the upcoming Lamar album, featuring guest spots by Mary J. Blige and Drake, among others. A deluxe addition will have a string of original bonus tracks. Don’t expect a large tour anytime soon- doesn’t seem to be Lamar’s thing (nor Dr. Dre’s nor Drake’s nor Eminem’s…)


01 Sherane a.k.a Master Splinter’s Daughter
02 Bitch, Don’t Kill My Vibe
03 Backseat Freestyle
04 The Art of Peer Pressure
05 Money Trees (feat. Jay Rock)
06 Poetic Justice (feat. Drake)
07 good kid
08 m.A.A.d city (feat. MC Eiht)
09 Swimming Pools (Drank) [Extended Version]
10 Sing About Me, I’m Dying of Thirst
11 Real (feat. Anna Wise)
12 Compton (feat. Dr. Dre)