It is about time. Bloc Party return from the seedy belly of wherever a prolonged hiatus brings someone, and have a release date for their new album, “Four.” The new album is set for release August 20, 2012, and consists of 12 tracks, 14 on the deluxe edition.

There is certainly a common thread recently with naming an album in its accompanying numerical release. ‘Four” is the group’s fourth album, following their third in 2008, which was not titled “Three” but actually “Intimacy.”

“Intimacy” was instrumentally dynamic but very focused on an electronic sound, the group toning down the guitar elements and introducing entire songs driven by keyboard bamboozling.

So the hiatus wasn’t as long as other groups in recent memory (The Cars disappeared for 20 years there and Jane’s Addiction four separate hiatus’ would like a word) but with Bloc Party’s back catalog of excellent songs and albums, the wait only seems longer than it actually was.

In promotion of the new album, the band are embarking on a short tour of America, visiting a few select and sometimes obscure cities as if they were picked from a hat instead of meticulously chosen to maximize the touring potential.


The dates are posted below, so you ca immediately be disappointed they aren’t coming anywhere near you. Also posted is the track list to the upcoming album and the album trailer:

Sept 14-           House of Blues                       Boston MA

Sept 15-           Tower Theatre                         Upper Darby, PA

Sept 16-           9:30 Club                                Washington, DC

Sept 17-           9:30 Club                                Washington DC

Sept 19-           Royal Oak Music Theatre       Royal Oak, MI

Sept 21-           Riviera Theatre                        Chicago, IL

Sept 22-           First Avenue                           Minneapolis, MN

Sept 28-           Showbox                                 Seattle, WA

  1. So He Begins to Lie
  2. 3×3
  3. Octopus
  4. Real Talk
  5. Kettling
  6. Day Four
  7. Coliseum
  8. V.A.L.I.S.
  9. Team A
  10. Truth
  11. The Healing
  12. We’re Not Good People
  13. Mean (deluxe)
  14. Leaf Skeleton (deluxe)